## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

## **Resolution No. 194 (LS)**

As amended.

•

Introduced by:

J. M.S. Brown Mike Cruz A. R. Unpingco F. B. Aguon, Jr. Edward J.B. Calvo B. J.F. Cruz Mark Forbes L. F. Kasperbauer R. Klitzkie J. A. Lujan A. B. Palacios, Sr. R. J. Respicio Ray Tenorio J. T. Won Pat

Relative to recognizing the Guam Power Authority for its hard work, commitment, and dedication at the Fourteenth (14<sup>th</sup>) Annual Pacific Power Association Luncheon, and commending the Executive Steering Committee for its leadership, networking abilities and oversight.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN: 2

3

WHEREAS, on August 22 to 26, 2005, the Guam Power Authority (GPA) hosted the Fourteenth (14<sup>th</sup>) Annual Pacific Power Association (PPA) 4 5 Conference and Trade Exhibition on Guam. This was a significant event for our island as it brought the leadership of its island utilities and trade industry 6

members from above and below the equator to share their experiences and
 offer support towards improving the quality of life for their ratepayers; and

. **.** 

3 WHEREAS, PPA is an association of electricity utilities, organizations and individuals who have an interest in the operations and development of 4 the power industry in the Pacific Island countries. The main objective of the 5 PPA is to enhance the performance of power utilities in the region through 6 7 cooperative effort by the Active Members, Allied Members and Regional and 8 International Aid Donors. To see that objectives are met, the Executive 9 Steering Committee guides GPA through planning and networking with other 10 members of the PPA; and

WHEREAS, the Executive Steering Committee within GPA consists of: 11 John M. Benavente, P.E., General Manager, Consolidated Utilities Services; 12 13 Joaquin C. Flores, P.E., General Manager; Vicente N. Mesa, P.E., Advisor; 14 Artemio S. Perez, Chairman; Sherry D. Perez, Vice-Chairwoman; Eileen K. Gimeno, Secretary; John J. Cruz, P.E., Technical Presentation; Steve C. 15 16 Bautista, Logistic/Technical Support; Richard J. Peredo, Technical Support; 17 Allan C. Pisaro, Technical Support and Anthony R. Santos, Transportation; 18 and

WHEREAS, the PPA's membership encompasses twenty-three (23)
Active (Utility) Members from as far south as Samoa, as far north as the
Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas, as far east as Tahiti and as far west
as the Republic of Belau; and

WHEREAS, PPA's membership includes over sixty (60) Allied (Trade
Industry) members who provide various utility services to Support Active
Member partners in accomplishing their missions; and

WHEREAS, PPA's affiliate members provide support on an
 international basis through donations and technical expertise; and

.

•

3 WHEREAS, the conference's technical presentations offered insight into 4 improved operations through efficiency, alternate energy technology, 5 enhanced customer service and disaster management; and

6 WHEREAS, the PPA Trade Exhibition promoted products and services
7 to Active Members and offered networking to reach different technical trade
8 specializations in the power industry; now, therefore, be it

9 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby,
10 on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize Guam Power Authority (GPA) for
11 its hard work, commitment and dedication at the Fourteenth (14<sup>th</sup>) Annual
12 Pacific Power Association Luncheon; and be it further

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby
 commend the Executive Steering Committee for its leadership, networking
 abilities and oversight; and be it further

16 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 17 18 thereafter transmitted to John M. Benavente, P.E., General Manager, Consolidated Utilities Services; to Joaquin C. Flores, P.E., General Manager, 19 Guam Power Authority; to Vicente N. Mesa, P.E., Advisor; to Artemio S. 20 21 Perez, Chairman; to Sherry D. Perez, Vice-Chairwoman; to Eileen K. Gimeno, Secretary; to John J. Cruz, P.E., Technical Presentation; to Steve C. Bautista, 22 Logistic/Technical Support; to Richard J. Peredo, Technical Support; to Allan 23 C. Pisaro, Technical Support; to Anthony R. Santos, Transportation; and to 24 25 the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I* MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE  $19^{TH}$  DAY OF SEPTEMBER 2006.

**ARK FORBES** Speaker

EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature